Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Can You Lead Me All the Way?

November 3 2013 , Written by Peanut Butter Blogger Published on #Old School

I just met my teammates for my collaborative project last week, and it is already the end of the second week, while I must keep in mind that our English document must be submitted next week. Times flies so fast!

Last week, we introduced ourselves, it was the "meeting time". Even though we started to suggest ideas for the project, we only elected the definite choice this week and the first drafts were thrown a few days ago.

Actually, although we seem regularly working on our project, my Irish classmate and I have noticed that WE, the Irish members, always have to launch ideas and motivate the others first.

Indeed:

  1. My classmate contacted everyone by writing the first mail.
  2. I created the Facebook group to enable discussions.
  3. My classmate was the first team member to suggest ideas.
  4. I created the Introductions topic on Sulis.
  5. My classmate and I wrote the first draft of the instructional document.

Not only do we always start everything, but we also have to motivate the others. Each time we post on Sulis, we got no answer and only the two of us comment. I have to put a note on Facebook and only then, our teammates reply.

My classmate complains about that situation. I am usually optimistic and don't get angry fast and think of it instead. I am wondering: did we make a mistake in not electing a group leader from the beginning?

In the assignment sheet, it reads team members should spend the first week to introduce themselves and elect a leader. As we are a small group, just six, I saw no need to do so. Yet, now, I understand the role and the importance of the leader.

In fact, my teammates are not lazy and still work. However, they won't start until we ask them to do so. They need someone to tell them to work and motivate them. That's the role of the leader. A leader guides the group and motivates them to have the work keep going.

Last year, I had to create an e-learning course with three other students. We decided to give each of us a role, to sound more professional. I was the project manager. Although we didn't state that I was the leader, everyone was referring to me: I scheduled the meetings; I put our parts together and submitted the work; when a teammate of mine finished their part, they checked with me first before emailing it to the others; when they doubted something, they came to me.

The e-learning course went well, everybody knows what the others were doing. Unlike now, it seems very hesitating.

I am sure my teammates are not lazy, as they still offer suggestions... when they're asked to do so. Working with people you have never met or will never meet can be intimidating. Nobody wants to offend anyone and nobody wants to call themselves "leader" because they think it'll be too pretentious. It's hard to work with people you don't know, as you don't know how they react.

In fact, as there's no meeting between groups and each group submits their own work without being in contact with one another, there's no need to appoint a leader and call them "leader".There's no need to give all the power to one member. However, someone in the group has to be the reminder. This person has to guide the team, to tell them it's time they worked, to wake them up, and to motivate them. This person acts as a leader without the title of "leader".

The leader doesn't feel the need to exhibit their pride. The leader only exists thanks to the group. The goal is to work together. There's no extra marks to be called "leader". If there's no apparent leader elected, someone has to act like a leader, even without the title. The marks will be shared among the members but the most important thing, after all, is to get the project well done. Better to get something than nothingness, isn't?

Share this post

Repost0

Comment on this post

H
The quality of your blogs and conjointly the articles and price appreciating.
Reply
P
Thank you for your encouragement! I created this blog as part of university assignments in 2013, but I enjoyed it and wrote everything with my heart. I hope it helps and inspires readers. :)